Hope

Screen Shot 2016-12-16 at 7.43.03 PM.png

All I know now
is that you’re you
and I’m me
and we occupy this space
which has been occupied
by countless others.

And the thoughts we think
may or may not belong to us
(but keep pretending).

And the hope we cling to
may or may not be an illusion
(but keep clinging).

And the people we love
may or may not be pockets of breath
cooled by an ocean of stillness
(but keep loving).

All I know now
is that whatever time and space are
I occupy
and whatever language is
I lean on like a crutch.

And the tears that leave worn eyes
may or may not be sacred
And the loss that devours
may or may not diminish us
And the surges in my chest
may or may not be my heart
banging against her cage
trying to finally tell me
that being alive
was never meant to be
a gift after all.

But here I am
still
throwing my voice
against the darkening
shell of a sky.

2 thoughts on “Hope

Leave a Reply

